SP-BSP Alliance: To contest for 38 seats each in UP

ANIMESH SRIVASTAVA 12/01/2019 16:06 PM

Lucknow, Dec 12: Akhilesh Yadav and Mayawati announced their alliance in Uttar Pradesh for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls. Each party will share 38 seats, leaving two seats for Congress. The alliance will not contest the election in Amethi and Raebareli which are the constituencies of Rahul Gandhi and Sonia Gandhi respectively.

The alliance left two more seats for smaller allies. The announcement of the alliance was made in a press conference in Lucknow.  BSP chief Mayawati said, “ We won’t gain anything by including Congress in our alliance. Both BSP and SP have experienced in the past that Congress’s vote is not transferrable.”

Akhilesh Yadav attacked the BJP saying, “ The BJP has raked up the issue of caste in UP. People are being killed in encounters because of their caste. ”

Uttar Pradesh CM Yogi Adityanath commented on the alliance calling it a desperate attempt to save their existence. He said, “ Public knows the truth and they will give the reply when the time comes."

Download English News Apps by Newstimes to to read the latest News on your Android Mobiles.

Download App


Your Feedback

Your Feedback