3 scientists receive 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for development of lithium-ion batteries

SUKIRTI MISHRA 09/10/2019 16:04 PM

The 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been jointly awarded to John B Goodenough, M Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino for the development of lithium-ion batteries


New Delhi. John B Goodenough of the US, Britain’s M Stanley Whittingham and Japan’s Akira Yoshino have been jointly honored with 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry. The trio received the award for the development of lithium-ion batteries. Notably, the Physics award was given to a Canadian-American cosmologist and 2 Swiss scientists, a day before. 


The Nobel Prizes this year are being announced between October 7 and 14, in the following order: October 7 (Medicine), October 8 (Physics), October 9 (Chemistry), October 10 (Literature), October 11 (Peace), October 14 (Economics). The events commenced on Monday with the award declaration for Physiology or Medicine. The Chemistry prize will be announced on Wednesday. This year’s double-header Literature Prizes will be awarded Thursday and the Peace Prize will be announced on Friday.


The economics prize will be awarded in the last -on October 14. Evidently, the 2018 literature prize was suspended after a scandal rocked the Swedish Academy. The body plans to award it this year, along with announcing the 2019 laureate.






Download English News Apps by Newstimes to to read the latest News on your Android Mobiles.

Download App


Your Feedback

Your Feedback