2019 Nobel Prize for Medicine: Kaelin, Ratcliffe & Semenza receive the award jointly

SUKIRTI MISHRA 07/10/2019 16:16 PM


--William G Kaelin, Jr, Peter J Ratcliffe and Gregg L Semenza have won Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine

--They received the award jointly for their discoveries of "how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability"

--The Karolinska Institutet said the trio should share equally the 9 million kronor ($918,000) cash award


New Delhi. The Nobel Prize of 2019 for Medicine or Physiology was jointly awarded to 2 Americans and a British scientist on Monday. The scientists namely, William G. Kaelin Jr, Gregg L. Semenza, Sir Peter J. Ratcliffe, were awarded for their discoveries on “how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability”. It is the 110th prize in the category which has been rewarded since 1901. 


The Karolinska Institutet, which awards the Nobel Prize for medicine, revealed in a statement the award recipients will share the cash reward of 9 million kronor (918,000 US Dollars), equally. The official Twitter handle of the Nobel Prize tweeted, “Oxygen sensing is central to a large number of diseases. The discoveries made by this year’s Nobel Prize laureates have fundamental importance for physiology and have paved the way for promising new strategies to fight anaemia, cancer and many other diseases.” 


The event opened on Monday, with announcement of Physiology or Medicine award. While the prizes for Physics and Chemistry will be declared on Tuesday and Wednesday respectively. This year’s double-header Literature Prizes will be awarded Thursday and the Peace Prize will be announced on Friday. The economics prize will be awarded in the last— on October 14.


Download English News Apps by Newstimes to to read the latest News on your Android Mobiles.

Download App


Your Feedback

Your Feedback